Small Grants Program for Non State Actors

Africa Lead II and the CAADP Non-State Actors Coalition (CNC) are excited to announce a small grants program to strengthen the network of Non-State Actors supporting CAADP in Nigeria, Senegal, Uganda, and Kenya. We invite interested organizations to submit a brief concept paper in order to earn the chance to apply for resources and support, build relationships and networks with key actors in CAADP, and put your idea into action. Grant activities will be funded by the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) to help surface creative and effective approaches to improve citizen engagement in national food security investment priorities (as outlined by the CAADP themes). To accomplish this, proposals shall focus on:
• Aligning NSA program design and development to the CAADP agenda to support relevant NAIP priorities;
• Making use of agricultural performance data relevant to specific CAADP themes for advocacy and strategic communication purposes; and
• Generating relevant data to support the ongoing monitoring of CAADP progress.
Applicants may propose new projects or scale up small projects that have demonstrated success. Awardees will be expected to share evaluation results and key lessons, and periodically disseminate activities and outcomes with the broader community. If your organization is working towards creative solutions for these objectives in Kenya, Uganda, Nigeria, or Senegal, please review the application and submit your idea.
Please click on the link below for more information on the Small Grants program, application and submission, eligibility, and more.

CTA/PACA AFLATOXIN REPORT LAUNCH on “Improving the Evidence Base on Aflatoxin Contamination and Exposure in Africa” for your reference. Follow the links below to access the relevant documents;

Link to the article announcing the report is available at:

Joint CTA-PACA press release is available at:

The full publication can be downloaded from: and

The Launch Of The Strategy For the Agricultural Council Of Kenya

Agricultural Council of Kenya (AgCK), whose vision is ‘ A highly remunerative agriculture to all value chain actors’ and mission is ‘To effectively deliver progressive change in the sector through focused but differentiated actions’ was formed in May 2015. The council has a mandate of ensuring that all actors in the agricultural sector build strong synergies and are more proactive, interactive and impact in the Kenyan Agricultural Sector development.

National Agricultural Sector Stakeholders convened at SAROVA PANAFRIC Hotel on the 16th and 17th of November, 2016 during which the Council’s Strategic Plan (2016 to 2021) was launched. This was after a highly consultative process where individuals and institutions were reached out to provide input into the ‘the agriculture we want and the contribution we would make’ report. The Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture Livestock and Fisheries (MoALF) presided over the occasion.

2017 Agropolis Foundation Louis Malassis < International Scientific Prize For Agriculture & Food

Agropolis Foundation created the Louis MALASSIS International Scientific Prize for Agriculture and Food in order to recognize individuals, or a group of individuals, for their exemplary and promising contribution in promoting innovation through research, development and capacity building in the North, South or in the Mediterranean Region in order to improve food and agricultural systems sustainability as well as contribute to addressing food security and poverty reduction.

The Prize consists of the following categories:

  • The Louis Malassis Distinguished Scientist Prize is conferred to an outstanding scientist, or a group of scientists who has made significant contribution in the field covered by the Prize through his/her (or their collective) work.
  • Louis Malassis Young Promising Scientist Prize is given to a young individual, or a group of young scientists, who has carried out original and promising work in the field covered by the Prize.
  • Louis Malassis Outstanding Career in Agricultural Development Prize is awarded to a person still in activity whose professional career is devoted to agricultural development, be it in the field of research, innovation, development or policy.

The winner in each category will receive € 20,000. Application is open to all stakeholders from an academic or research organization (private or public), a civil society organization (e.g., NGOs, farmers organizations), or the private sector (e.g., small/medium enterprises). DEADLINE: 25 January 2017, midnight (CET, France)

Please follow the link for more information: